Posted by: kateduffy | September 4, 2008

Painting Of A Blonde Girl

Painting Of A Blonde Girl By Kate Duffy

Painting Of A Blonde Girl By Kate Duffy

This is my second painting of a woman, in what I hope to be a series of figurative paintings.  I’m going to complete a range of pictures in this style which I’ve achieved using a mix of acrylics and charcoal on stretched canvas.

It’s taken me ages to paint a face and facial expression that I was happy with.  She started off with red hair, turned blue during an impulsive phase before finally ending up with her current blonde barnet – and the face followed from there.  The girl is loosely based on someone I know, but she is intended to be more of a symbolic woman than a real life individual.

The picture was taken with my phone camera which is why it’s a bit grainy.  I’m hoping to get my hands on a decent digital camera soon, so I’ll be replacing it with a clearer version shortly!

Size: approx 125cmx75cm

Leave a Reply

Categories

